小时钟的故事

小时钟的故事

程序坞里的小时钟

Aqua 界面和时钟应用

在 Mac OS X 的第一个公开测试版中,操作系统中就内置了一个时钟应用。那是苹果第一次向世界介绍 Aqua 界面,时钟应用就是这样一个优雅的实用程序。2000 年的时候还没有像视网膜显示屏这样的技术,但时钟应用还是成为了我最喜欢的一个应用,它是如此的美丽。

一个简单的 Cocoa 应用程序

几年后,我开始自学 Cocoa 编程,而时钟应用在即将到来的更新中已经没有了。于是我决定做一个,这就是 2014 年推出的小时钟的第一个版本。

这只是一个简单的 Cocoa 应用,没有太多功能,没什么大不了的。出乎我意料的是,当我把它提交到 Product Hunt 的时候,小时钟得到了很多的好评,苹果的编辑们甚至在应用商店 "我们现在喜欢的新应用" 中推广了一次。

大家都很喜欢这个小应用!

视网膜显示

视网膜显示屏简直是改变了游戏规则,高像素密度让程序坞图标的数据密度比以前提高了 4倍。我还记得当我打开 Xcode,在视网膜 MacBook Pro 上运行小时钟工程项目的那一刻,时钟图标丰富的细节简直让我震撼。

太神奇了!

新的设计,新的一年。

我认为 Mac 用户很喜欢使用程序坞。对我来说,它不仅仅是一个快捷键的容器,它是活的,告诉你你所看到的电脑不仅仅是一个工具。

所以我们一直在努力,试图让小时钟更有用,更有意义。

最近,我们发布了小时钟 2.0 版本,在这个版本中,我们几乎重新设计了一切,从代码到像素。我们添加了很多新的功能,如定时器和时区支持,不同风格的主题库。

从一个小小的 Cocoa 应用到一个支持定时器和时区的程序坞时钟实用程序,以及漂亮的主题库,小时钟正在变得更好。

我们使用小时钟已经有一段时间了,它已经成为我们 Mac 生活的一部分。在新的一年里,我们希望越来越多的 Mac 用户能够像我们一样享受使用全新的小时钟。




Some rights reserved
Except where otherwise noted, content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license

Story of Clock mini

A dock clock and more

Aqua and Clock.app

In the first public beta release of Mac OS X, there was a Clock app built right in the OS. That was the first time Apple introduced the aqua interface to the world, and the clock app was such an elegant utility app. There's no such technology like the retina display back in 2000, but still the clock app became my favorite one, it was so beautiful.

A simple cocoa app

Years later I started teaching myself cocoa programming, and the clock app was gone in upcoming updates. So I decided to make one, that was the first version of Clock mini, launched in 2014.

It was really just a simple cocoa app without much features, no big deal. To my surprise, when I submitted it to product hunt, Clock mini got lots of upvotes, and the app store even promoted it once in "New Apps We Love Right Now".

People were actually loving and enjoying this little cocoa app!

Retina display

The retina display was really a game changer, the high pixel density makes the Dock 4x more data-dense than before. I still remember the moment when I opened Xcode and built Clock mini on a retina MacBook Pro, the richness of details in the clock icon just blew me away.

It was magical!

New design, new year.

I think Mac users are really enjoying using the Dock, to me it is not just a container of shortcuts, it is alive there, telling you that the computer you are looking at is more than a tool.

So we keep working on the project, trying to make Clock mini more useful and meaningful.

Recently we've released version 2.0, in which we've redesigned everything, from code to pixels. We've added lots of new features like timer and timezones support, themes library with different styles...

From a tiny little cocoa app, to a dock clock utility with timer and timezones and beautiful themes library, the mini clock is getting better.

We've been using Clock mini for a while now, it already became the part of our Macs. In the new year, we hope more and more Mac users can enjoy using Clock mini just as we did.